Space – Season 1, Ep 9 Review

Due to the special nature of this particular episode, the Blog Writer was unable to find a suitable quote for the Quote Box. She apologizes for any disappointment this might cause, but in all likelihood, it probably won’t cause much.

 
 
 
Season 1, Episode 9: “Space”

Space

Ah, “Space.” The episode X-Philes love to hate. Many people consider this the worst episode of the entire series. I guess it really depends on what you consider to be bad, which for me has always been episodes that insult me by getting the bare essentials of the show completely wrong or doing things that change my perception of the characters or leave me feeling angry or deprived. “Space” isn’t that kind of episode. It’s just boring and stupid.

Really, really, really stupid.

I’ll admit I nearly choked when I saw Chris Carter had written this. I know it’s still very early in the show, but the fact that this episode sprung from the same pen that brought us the likes of “The Post-Modern Prometheus”, “Triangle”, and “How the Ghosts Stole Christmas” is baffling to me. If there was any episode where the first season was really off its footing, it would be this one. All right, let’s take a look.

On a second thought…let’s not.

I know this is incredibly lazy of me, but like “Conduit”, “Space” just doesn’t give me a lot of things to talk about. I could go on and on about how utterly ridiculous the premise is, even by X-Files standards, but it’s been done before, and honestly, I don’t want to let this episode waste any more of my time. Because when you get right down to it, talking about it won’t do anything to clarify or add to anything viewers don’t already know. They’re bored out of their mind watching this episode, so am I. The stupid face is idiotic. The ghost thing is idiotic. Mulder and Scully seem just as bored as we are. There is nothing I can say about this episode that hasn’t already been said, except that I wouldn’t call it the worst episode of the series. I really wouldn’t. “Worst” implies that its existence needs to be acknowledged, which is certainly not the case this time around. Like I said before, “bad” to me is when an episode pisses me off. “Space” doesn’t piss me off. It just bores the hell out of me. And it’s stupid. That is all there is to say.

cap350


Final Score

1+star

Final score for “Space” is 1/10, but really, who the hell cares?


Notable Nuggets

  • There aren’t any. Trust me.

 

One thought on “Space – Season 1, Ep 9 Review

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

