Eve – Season 1, Ep 11 Review

SCULLY: Are you Sally Kendrick?

EVE 6: That’s not my name. But she is me and I am her and we are together.

See how they run like pigs from a gun see how they fly…I’m crying… BECAUSE I’M AN IDIOT.

 
 
 
Season 1, Episode 11: “Eve”

Eve

I’M SORRY. I’M SORRY, SEASON 1. I’M AN IDIOT. JUST IGNORE EVERYTHING I SAID BEFORE. YOU AREN’T AWKWARD. YOU AREN’T MEDIOCRE. YOU’RE THE X-FILES, WHICH MEANS YOU’RE BRILLIANT. FORGIVE ME. I AM A FOOL AMONG FOOLS.

In all seriousness, I feel like a fool for forgetting about some of these first season episodes. When I started watching “Eve” again, I said to myself, GODDAMMIT. And not because the episode was bad, either. No, this episode is incredible. It’s fantastic. It’s creepy beyond belief and it’s just incredible. Forget “Squeeze,” if you’re looking to the first season for your quintessential X-Files episode, pick this one.

With “Eve” we have the remarkable instance of Mulder being wrong. Not just a little wrong; oh, no, no. Mulder is so off the mark in this episode that it’s almost funny. Those two girls prove to be his most intellectually apt adversaries yet – and we’re talking about a guy whose crazy, almost out-of-nowhere theories about the paranormal usually end up being right.

There’s nothing extremely paranormal about this episode. In fact, what makes “Eve” so scary is that the Eves are the result of science gone very wrong. In other words, this is right up Scully’s alley, and Scully even admits that she had started to suspect the girls, despite how ridiculous that might seem.

“Eve 6” is creepy beyond all creepiness. The actress’s performance is among the best of all the guest appearances on the show, period. Whenever she smiles and shows those crooked yellow teeth, I get shivers. She scared me a lot more than Tooms did, that’s for sure.

The little girls aren’t necessarily scary, but there is something definitely off about them. They display practically no emotion, even in the face of what would normally be considered great trauma. When they meet, they share secret, little demonic smiles with one another, and you actually find yourself thinking, “These little girls are going to get the best of Mulder and Scully.” And they do.

Deep Throat’s appearance in this episode is also very effective. It gives the sense that “Eve” is somehow connected to the larger storyline, even though it’s technically not a mythology episode. This puts the episode in a very special category of its own. “Eve” is not really a monster-of-the-week, and many of its elements are too familiar to be considered a standalone. And yet, since it doesn’t appear to have anything to do with aliens or the rest of the show’s mythology, it can’t be considered part of the mythology, either. But it doesn’t even matter, because it’s so damn good.

I feel terrible about forgetting this episode when I started these reviews. “Eve” is really something else. It’s still not the best episode in the season (we’re getting to it, I promise!) but it’s some of the best The X-Files has to offer, and I won’t forget it again.

Eve2


Final Score

9+stars

Final score for “Eve” is 9/10. A fantastic, creepy, creepy, creepy, creepy episode.


Notable Nuggets

  • Hooray for no bad outfits! Another reason this episode is great.
  • Semi-DFWS moment for the line “We are the police!”
  • We just knew.

 

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

