Die Hand Die Verletzt – Season 2, Ep 14

SCULLY: I think he incited your imagination. I think this case is nothing more than a murderer taking advantage of local folklore. I mean there’s nothing odd about –

She is cut off as something falls onto her umbrella, knocking it. Other thuds are heard. Cut to shot from above. Frogs are falling heavily onto the pair’s umbrellas. Cut back to the agents — they look bemused, Mulder looking up, shielding his face, Scully ducking, definitely startled. The thudding stops. Cut to shot of the ground — many frogs hopping around their feet.

MULDER: So… lunch?

SCULLY: Mulder, toads just fell from the sky!

MULDER: I guess their parachutes didn’t open.

I – I have no comment.

 
 
 
Season 2, Episode 14: “Die Hand Die Verletzt”

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 3.45.07 PM

It’s hard to take this episode seriously, and I don’t think we’re supposed to. If the toad scene is any indication, “Die Hand Die Verletzt” is very much a montage of occult clichés. This episode is The X-Files taking a look at the rulebook for scary and picking out a select few typical frightening things to use. It’s meant to be completely over the top. It’s poking fun at you.

I guess that’s why I’ve never found it that scary, even though the occult does terrify me. When I see The X-Files, scary means I have no idea what’s coming. In “Die Hand Die Verletzt” you have a pretty good idea of what’s coming. You just have to enjoy the ride.

In fact, much of this episode I find funny more than anything else. The toad scene is pretty funny, and just the general over-the-top quality gives it a more lighthearted feel. But that’s also the episode’s weakness, because it actually deals with some very sad and disturbing things. The death of children is never funny, and this episode almost makes light of it.

I don’t know. I have conflicting feelings when it comes to this one, because I enjoy watching it on some level, but toward the end I don’t feel like I’ve gained much of anything. Just don’t take it seriously.

x-files076


Final Score

6+stars

Final score for “Die Hand Die Verletzt” is 6/10. While not terribly fulfulling, it’s still scary. In a cliche, amusing sort of way, that is.


Notable Nuggets

  • Mulder instinctively tries to protect Scully with his body during the shower scene. ♥ ♥ ♥
  • Ms. Paddock is like a Scooby Doo villain, but 100 times more graphic. (Like, of course it was the teacher this whole time!)
  • The snake scene is ingeniously shot. That was the one scene where I was legitimately scared, and I’m not even scared of snakes.
Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

