Død Kalm – Season 2, Ep 19

SCULLY: (voice-over) Agent Fox Mulder lost consciousness at approximately 4:30 this morning, the 12th of March. There is nothing more I can do for him, or for myself. Supplies are exhausted, no food or liquid consumed for over 24 hours. The outer hull most probably flooded, though for now the inner hull is supporting the ship’s mass. Among Halverson’s belongings, I found a children’s book of Norse legends. From what I can tell, the pictures show the end of the world – not in a sudden firestorm of damnation as the Bible teaches us, but in a slow covering blanket of snow. First the moon and the stars will be lost in a dense white fog, then the rivers and the lakes and the sea will freeze over. And finally a wolf named Skoll will open his jaws and eat the sun, sending the world into an everlasting night. I think I hear the wolf at the door.

Oh, good Lord.

 
 
 
Season 2, Episode 19: “Død Kalm”

dod-kalm-008

“Død Kalm” is the second episode from Season 2 that reminds me of a Star Trek episode. Actually, it reminds me of two Star Trek episodes. One, from The Original Series, is called “The Deadly Years” and the other is from The Next Generation, called “Unnatural Selection.” I don’t remember much about either of these two episodes except for the fact that everyone got really old and the makeup jobs were really bad.

Oh, X-Files. Did you have to do the same thing?

I prefer to think of “Død Kalm” as Mulder and Scully contracting some sort of horrific skin disease rather than undergo rapid aging. I can’t imagine what it must have been like for David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson to be in this one. My guess is the looks of extreme discomfort and disgust are genuine.

But, whatever. I can’t dismiss an entire episode based on a bad makeup job, right? Well, normally I would agree with that, but this particular episode doesn’t have much else going for it. Honestly, I haven’t been this bored since “Space.” I know some people like this episode, but I personally find it dull, dull, dull. Maybe it’s because I’ve seen rapid aging before; maybe it’s because Mulder and Scully sit in a ship for most of the episode.

Now that I think about it, it probably has much to do with the fact that I’ve already seen this type of premise before, and I don’t like it here. Seeing Kirk, Spock, and McCoy in their bad makeup jobs is one thing. Seeing the horrible witch Pulaski in a bad makeup job is actually enjoyable. But Mulder and Scully? Frankly, it’s just disturbing. And not in a good way.

I’m scratching my head trying to come up with more to say about this one. I guess I’m really not being fair. It wasn’t terrible. It really wasn’t. But it’s not one of the Season’s best, that’s for sure.

tumblr_lo9vroL2Q81qlbvf0o1_500


Final Score

4+stars

Final score for “Død Kalm” is 4/10. I feel like I’m being nicer to this episode than it deserves, but whatever.


Notable(ish) Nuggets

  • If you compare the makeup jobs on Mulder and Scully to those of Kirk, Spock, and McCoy, you’ll find there isn’t really much improvement.
  • There is one measly little attempt to finally address Scully’s abduction in this episode. I personally find it rather pathetic, and Season 5 will do a much better job of addressing the recent disasters that occur.
  • The one satisfying moment in this episode was when Trondheim drowned. He annoyed me. A lot.

 

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

