Tunguska – Season 4, Ep 8

KRYCEK: Most everything else was over the counter. Two thousand kilos of boom-boom.

I don’t know why, but I always laugh at this line. Only Krycek can get away with saying “boom-boom,” that’s for sure. (Take that, Meghan Trainor.) 

 
 
 
Season 4, Episode 8: “Tunguska”

Alex_Krycek_is_interrogated_by_Fox_Mulder

The next round of mythology episodes, “Tunguska” and its follow-up, “Terma,” are some action packed suspense pieces that feature a lot of running, a lot of black oil, and a lot (lot) of punching Krycek in the face.

Speaking of Krycek…it’s been too long, buddy.

Alex Krycek is a deeply underrated villain who always, no matter who he’s helping, seems to get the short end of the stick. He’s jerked around by the Syndicate, he’s jerked around by the FBI, and he’s jerked around by his own country of origin (or his arm his sawed off; either way, it still sucks for him). You always get the sense that no matter what Krycek does, it’s going to end up badly. In this way he provides an interesting foil to Mulder, who we always want to see succeed but rarely does. We always want Krycek to fail, and he pretty much delivers every time.

This makes Krycek a rather pitiful character, but also a deliciously enjoyable one. You always get the sense that he’s teetering on the edge of insanity, that one more failure is going to make him crack. He’s a fuse ready to go off, Krycek. He’s so much fun. 

Honestly, Krycek is what really makes this episode enjoyable for me (that, and seeing Skinner in his boxers). Seeing him get pushed around by everyone, especially Mulder and Skinner, you can’t help but feel just a little bit bad for him. And also, let’s face it: he’s kind of a badass. Anyone who can kill a man while hanging off a 17th-story balcony by a handcuff immediately gets the Badass Medal in my book. Mulder and Skinner’s treatment of Krycek is also fun to watch, since they have the upper hand for once. And it’s nice to see that Skinner pretty much has the same reaction to Krycek as Mulder does. Skinner’s “think warm thoughts” comment is incredibly similar to Mulder telling Krycek he’ll tell Agent Scully to bring him a bowl of water. Ouch.

As much as I’d love to talk about Krycek, though, we must also turn our attention to other parts of this episode, namely the black oil, which makes its first appearance here since “Piper Maru”/”Apocrypha” if I’m not mistaken. And this is where the episode loses me a little bit. We aren’t really given a proper explanation about several things: 1. How Krycek got out of North Dakota and how he survived the black oil, 2. What the black oil actually does. Recall in “Piper Maru”/”Apocrypha” that the black oil takes over its host and makes them do sinister, awful things. But in “Tunguska” the black oil seems to send you into this comatose state. Is it the same stuff? It certainly looks the same, and it doesn’t really make sense that it wouldn’t be. But then why this change? How come it does something different from what it did before?

Sadly, we’ll never really get an explanation for this, and although there’s a little voice in the back of my head whispering “inconsistent writing,” I’d rather assume Chris Carter & co. knew what they were doing and that this form of the black oil is just…I don’t know, mutated or evolved or something. It would certainly explain how Mulder seems to recover from it so quickly, as we’ll see in the follow-up episode, “Terma.”

Stay tuned for the next episode, in which we’ll discuss the Well-Manicured Man, the believability of escape scenes, euthanasia, and hugs with two arms.

Black_cancer_in_Fox_Mulder


Final Score

7+stars

Final score for “Tunguska” is 7/10. This is another one of those mythology episodes that serves to further (or further confuse) the mythology plot, but it’s not bad by any means. It’s certainly very entertaining, and we all need a dose of some kick-ass action.


 

Notable Nuggets (And Nitpicks)

  • I only noticed during this rewatch how sexual Mulder’s talk with Marita is. Watch closely, you’ll notice that they take great care in letting us know that Mulder was only there three minutes after he looked at his watch. In other words, the writers have to assure us that they didn’t have sex.
  • You’d think Mulder would be cool with roaches by now.
  • Pendrell is still the most adorable thing ever.
13 thoughts on “Tunguska – Season 4, Ep 8

  1. Melissa (@MadMakNY) says:

    I wanted to inform you that all your gray nonsense talk is going down this episode. GREEN FTW. #EyeGate

    COME BACK TO THE REWATCHES, MEGHAN. TWITTER’S NOT SO BAD. REALLY. I WOULD TELL YOU IF IT WAS SHIT. BUT I ALSO IGNORE A LOT SO MAYBE I DON’T REALLY KNOW WHAT’S UP? YOU BE THE JUDGE.

      • Melissa (@MadMakNY) says:

        Yeah, I’m sure you’re busy with school. I haven’t heard anything from XFN regarding the October schedule, which is weird since we’re so close to the end of the month. But maybe they already filled up the calendar and didn’t need to ask me to host anything? I don’t know.

      • Knife Ink says:

        I did ask them, and they said that they had enough people but that they would let us know when they started making the new schedule. They didn’t specify when though. It’s fine. I hope they’re letting some new people host. In any case, I don’t mind waiting. There are just a few episodes I’d love to get my greedy little hands on, lol.

      • Melissa (@MadMakNY) says:

        Twitter is shit.

        Apparently some fans got a pole up their ass about Mitch Pileggi joking about Scully & Skinner. He called them out on it. So good for him. But yeah, there’s still a lot of FanDumb going around, I guess. I’m trying to ignore. lol

      • Melissa (@MadMakNY) says:

        That’s cool if they’re using more variety of fans to host. As far as hosting again, I guess I’d like to. But we’re getting awfully close to S6 and I think my rage is best kept off XFN’s handle. LOL I wouldn’t mind some S7 or S8, though. I guess I’ll see if they ask me again. They may want to skip my snarky hosting technique. lol

      • Melissa (@MadMakNY) says:

        Haha, yep. And now that this two-part trailer is coming out on Monday, this will get crazy again for a while.

        Me too. I love S6. It has some of my favorite episodes. I mostly rage during the mytharc eps, and a few others, over Mulder’s behavior. I just want to throttle him sometimes. Haha.

  2. Melissa (@MadMakNY) says:

    INCONSISTENT WRITING. Listen to that whispering inner voice, Meg. It will lead you down the correct path. Unless it starts telling you to wear yoga pants and flip flops to the grocery store. Then you have to ignore it.

  3. Amy (@amymbythesea) says:

    Missed this review yesterday b/c I didn’t watch during the regular time and then proceeded to forget about it. Lame. Lol! Love your reviews!

    It all started with the toxic alien blood–that apparently picks and chooses who it wants to kill. What?! Lol! And then they bring in the Black Oil… I quickly gave up trying to understand any of this, as well as the mytharc stuff b/c it was all over the place.

    Also…Krycek is not fun, Meg. ;D He’s a good villain–I do not enjoy him. Lolz! And there were so many M/K tweets during the rewatch. So. Many. All the M/K shippers are trying to get me to join their shipping. In their dreams. Lolz!

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

